How Useful Is an ITIL Certification? Is It Worth Your Time?

The ITIL Certification gives you a solid understanding of ITIL 4’s lifecycle, primary principles and terminologies. You can understand how ITIL has developed to incorporate new technology and organisational processes by the end of this ITIL certification, as well as the necessary principles in a service management system.

What Is ITIL?

The ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) system was initially created by the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) of the UK Government in the late 1980s as a set of best practices that would improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of government organisations’ IT service management.

5 Stages of ITIL Lifecycle for Services

Similar to other processes and products, IT services have life cycles. Service life cycles are described in the best practices of ITIL services management to explain the process of initiating and sustaining services.

Services cannot be applied and operated with optimum productivity and efficiency without these ITIL lifecycles. For IT services to be run smoothly, it is necessary to respect the values of ITIL lifecycles.

The service lifecycle of ITIL is planned in five phases. These are interlinked phases. The purpose behind this is to ensure that the end target is always kept in mind at all levels of the ITIL service lifecycle. 

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continual Service Improvement


ITIL 4 is a comprehensive framework designed to ensure that companies will address the demands of the Fourth Industrial Revolution. It provides an end-to-end model for digital and IT operations, enabling companies to deliver high-quality IT-enabled goods and services quickly and efficiently.

It also includes event and problem management, helping users to prevent costly mistakes or where appropriate, to fix them as soon as possible.

ITIL 4 consist of two components:

  • Four Dimension model
  • Service value system (SVS)

The Four Dimension Model

ITIL 4 defines four dimensions to be addressed to ensure a systematic approach to service management:

  • Organisations and People
  • Information and Technology
  • Partners and suppliers
  • value streams and  process

Service Value System (SVS)

The Service Value System (SVS) is how all the components and activities of an organisation work together to facilitate value creation. ITIL 4 SVS contains a variety of elements:

  • Guiding principles
  • Governance
  • Service value chain
  • Continual improvement
  • Practices.

ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL Foundation certification covers the fundamentals of ITIL and is where most newcomers start the ITIL learning process and become certified. The certificate has no prerequisites, and anyone with interest in the subject can take part in this test.

The ITIL Certification training can be done through classroom or distance learning options, as well as through self-study. There is no obligation for you to complete a training course until you go to the Foundations test.

The Foundation Exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions that must be answered within 60 minutes with a grade of 65 per cent or 26 correct answers needed to pass the exam.

An IT professional who completes the ITIL Foundation level will likely need to complete a Practitioner or Intermediate certification before being able to qualify for a service management position.

Importance of ITIL Certification

ITIL certifications are definitely of great importance, both for individual ITSM practitioners and for organisations that rely on IT.

ITIL has been widely adopted as the leading ITSM system. Consequently, millions of IT practitioners have invested time and resources in ITIL certification programmes, intending to improve their career opportunities by better understanding how best IT practices can promote market value.

Is it really worth it?

ITIL certifications will help you obtain a work offer or advance your career. ITIL’s broad implementation and reputation as a generally accepted international system mean that ITIL trained practitioners with the right IT expertise are required worldwide.

Best ITIL Courses and Training

Some of the best ITIL training courses are listed below:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation (KOENIG)
  • ITIL Courses ( UDEMY)
  • ITIL Training & Courses (Linkedin Learning)
  •  ITIL V3 Foundation Certification Training ( Learning tree)


An ITIL course is an excellent way to improve your skills as an IT employee. This specification will help develop a sustainable process for ITSM. If you are an expert who plans to study ITIL, the five levels of ITIL certification are a must.

It’s worth certifying if you can show your understanding of work in IT. You can opt for itil training online with Koenig Solutions. 

Also Read: Career Prospects of ITIL Certification

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *